Best Music of 2013

There have been so many great records released this year, I had no idea where to start. These are just a few of my top favorites from 2013. And by the way, these are in no specific order… After several weeks of working on this here it goes:

  1. Courtney Barnett – The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas

I admit that when I first heard her, I wasn’t so sure, but the lyrics are great. She illustrates the scene from the lyrics in her songs.

2. CHVRCHES – The Bones of What You Believe

I love love love Chvrches. I remember hearing “Recover” on Y-Not Radio several months ago and immediately fell in love with them. And then, “The Mother We Share” was released, and it was over. Lauren Mayberry has such a simple, yet perfect voice for the songs. I still have yet to see them live, but come April 30, I will be in DC

3. Haerts – Hemiplegia

This band is amazing. Nini has such an incredible voice – I love her tone. “Wings” is perfect.

4. Washed Out – Paracosm

Ernest Greene. What can I say about him? I don’t remember how it came about that I really started getting into his music this year, but I have probably played this record to death since it was released August 31.

5. Anthony Green – Young Legs

Let it be said that I am a diehard Circa Survive and Anthony Green fan; however, in the past releases, I have not enjoyed Anthony’s solo material as much as I do this latest release in Young Legs. He’s gone a different musical direction with this record, and it turns out to be a fantastic, solid record.

6. HAIM – Days Are Gone

Oh man, have these sisters had a HUGE year! Great tracks like “The Wire”, “Forever”, and of course, “Falling”. The most recent performance on Jimmy Kimmel Live was fabulous. If you haven’t heard these girls, you don’t know what you’re missing out on!

7. Sky Ferreira – Night Time, My Time

This is one of my new favorite artists. She has a classic voice, love the indie 80’s sound, and the entire record is just solid. She’s going to be on tour this spring with Miley Cyrus and Icona Pop.

8. The National – Trouble Will Find Me

OK, so I wasn’t the biggest fan of The National when Boxer was released, and “Fake Empire” became huge; however, after listening several times, Trouble Will Find Me is one of the best releases of 2013, if not one of my all-time favorites.

9. Magic Man – You Are Here EP

Magic Man is one of my favorite new bands I’ve discovered this year. I honestly cannot wait for a new release!

10. Portugal. The Man – Evil Friends

I will never forget that fateful day that I discovered PTM. It was a show with Circa Survive and Keating. My first impression was that they were an odd band — nothing like I had heard before, but they had such an amazing live show, and from that point on it was love. With each PTM release they have done nothing but reinvent themselves. Several different genres in one sound: Portugal. The Man. This record is so, so good. Lots of great material from PTM so far and I’m sure this is not the last of them.

There are tons of other great releases from 2013, but these were some of my true favorites. I can’t wait to see what 2014 holds for music. I’m sure it will be a fantastic year! Let me know what you think of some of these bands and songs if you take a listen!

Leave a Reply

